di Erika Scafuro



Covid-19 emergency has forced every sports field to review competitions and formats. So it was also for surfing.
On July 17 Erik Logan, World Surf League Ceo, did a video announcement about updates on 2020 and 2021 season.
The covid-19 pandemic has compromised professional surfing travelling worldwide for the events of the tour schedule. Logan confirmed the cancellation of 2020 Championship Tour and Qualifying Series WSL Tour due to take care of the health of all the people who are around the organization: athletes, fans, employees, and the local communities.



“Welcome to a new era” is the slogan with which the WSL introduced the 2021 Championship Tour which will start next November in Hawaii.

What are the changes that have evolved the new competitions format of professional surfing?

° in September 2021 top five women and top five men of CT will battle during a single day event, “The WSL Finals”, to win the World Titles.
° For the first time ever CT season will develop into ten events both for women and men.
Women will join the men to surf at Teahupo’o, Tahiti, one of the world’s most iconic and demanding waves, for the first time since 2006.
° Two distinct seasons for Championship Tour (CT) and the Challenger Series (CS). CT season will run in 2021 from August through December. The QS will run through to the end of June 2021 and determine who has qualified for the Challenger Series. Points from QS events that were completed in 2020 will carry over into 2021.
2021 Championship Tour Season (all events and dates subject to change due to applicable COVID-19 related restrictions, including global travel restrictions):

Shiseido Maui Pro presented by ROXY: Maui, Hawaii | November 25 – December 6, 2020
Billabong Pipe Masters: Oahu, Hawaii | December 8 – 20, 2020
MEO Pro Portugal: Peniche, Portugal | February 18 – 28, 2021
Corona Open Gold Coast presented by Billabong: Queensland, Australia | March 18 – 28, 2021
Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach: Victoria, Australia | April 1 – 11, 2021
Margaret River Pro: Western Australia, Australia | April 16 – 26, 2021
Oi Rio Pro presented by Corona: Saquarema, Brasil | May 20 – 29, 2021
Surf Ranch Pro: California, USA | June 10 – 13, 2021
Quiksilver Pro G-Land: Indonesia | June 20 – 29, 2021
Corona Open J-Bay: South Africa | July 7 – 19, 2021
Outerknown Tahiti Pro: Teahupo’o, Tahiti | August 26 – September 6, 2021
The WSL Finals: Location TBD | September 8 – 16, 2021

Share This

Copy Link to Clipboard